Comprised of material each member wrote on acoustic guitars while on a spiritual retreat in India, The Beatles—most commonly known asThe White Album—remains the band’s most expansive, and, for multiple reasons, famous record. While its double-album sprawl suggests indulgence, there are few (if any) missteps. It stands as the group’s last one-for-all, all-for-one effort, even if most of the songs double as solo material given the singing by individual members on many of the tracks. Forty-plus years on, it’s impossible not to love what’s here. And now, with this definitive 2LP pressing, you’ll worship it.

Stepping back to the more basic production techniques of its earlier albums in order to distance themselves from the myriad imitators, the Beatles drop the psychedelic effects and focus on the tunes. Not that further recording-studio advancements don’t assist the band in making history. With the arrival of 3M eight-track machines, front skin removed from Ringo’s bass drums, and tea towels placed on the other drums, the sound is deadened and thickened, characteristics that are transparent on this stellar pressing.

So is the group’s shift towards American gear, namely, three Fender basses, which prominently figure into the mix. For the first time, fans can also fully detect the slight increase in room ambience, the intentional leakage that contributes to the sense of space, and the chorusing treatments on “Yer Blues” and “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” (hello, Eric Clapton), songs that mirror the Beatles’ decision to tone down phasing atmospherics. And dig George Martin’s honky-tonk piano on “Rocky Raccoon,” a percussive addition that’s the only half-speed recording on this album. 

Yes, you waited decades. Now, celebrate the end-all-be-all definitive edition of this seminal double album by securing your pressing today.

The Beatles The Beatles (The White Album) Track Listing:

1. Back in the U.S.S.R
2. Dear Prudence
3. Glass Onion 
4. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da 
5. Wild Honey Pie
6. The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill
7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps 
8. Happiness Is A Warm Gun 
9. Martha My Dear
10. I'm So Tired 
11. Blackbird
12. Piggies 
13. Rocky Raccoon 
14. Don't Pass Me By 
15. Why Don't We Do It In The Road 
16. I Will 
17. Julia 
18. Birthday
19. Yer Blues
20. Mother Nature's Son 
21. Everybody's Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey
22. Sexy Sadie 
23. Helter Skelter 
24. Long Long Long
25. Revolution 1
26. Honey Pie 
27. Savoy Truffle
28. Cry Baby Cry

The Beatles - The Beatles(White Album)

SKU: 602537734535

    Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

    Quick Links >>



    Vintage Audio Gears

    Music Buying Group

    Help >>
    Store Hours >>

    Monday - Sunday

    9 AM to 7:30 PM

    or by appointment beyond regular hours

    Follow Us >>
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon

    ©2020 Plaka Express Record Store | | +632 940-6858