In 1982 British new wave act Modern English returned with their second album, After The Snow, which was produced by Hugh Jones (whose recent work on Echo & The Bunnymen's Heaven Up Here had been much admired). Jones played an important role in shaping the songs and exposing the band's latent abilities as pop craftsmen. Two singles were extracted from the album: "Life In The Gladhouse" and the classic, "I Melt With You." Although the group's UK profile remained low, Sire Records licensed the record for the United States, where "I Melt With You" enjoyed massive success in clubs and on modern rock radio, and was featured in the movie Valley Girl. Vocalist Robbie Grey said of the album, "We used to think 'God, we'll never make a pop record. We're artists!, but things don't always turn out as you planned and when you actually create a pop record, it's so much more of a thrill than anything else."



1. Someone's Calling 
2. Life In The Gladhouse 
3. Face Of Wood 
4. Dawn Chorus
5. I Melt With You 
6. After The Snow 
7. Carry Me Down 
8. Tables Turning

Modern English - After the Show (LP)

SKU: 855971005475

Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

Quick Links >>



Vintage Audio Gears

Music Buying Group

Help >>
Store Hours >>

Monday - Sunday

9 AM to 7:30 PM

or by appointment beyond regular hours

Follow Us >>
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

©2018 Plaka Express Record Store | | +632 940-6858