top of page

Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga first met backstage in 2011 after the two performed at the Robin Hood Foundation gala in New York City and Bennett asked Lady Gaga to sing a duet with him on his Duets II album that he was beginning to record. “The Lady is A Tramp” was the result of that endeavor and conversations began about collaborating on a jazz project. That album, Cheek to Cheek, features classic jazz standards sung by Lady Gagaand Tony Bennett in a combination of vocal duets and solo performances. From the title track to “But Beautiful” to “I Won’t Dance,” the record’s duets showcase the beautiful chemistry between the two artists, who span 60 years in age. 


As Bennett says, “What I really love about being a jazz singer is that jazz artists are very creative, very honest, from phrase to phrase” and Lady Gaga adds, “We wanted to make something that sounded perfect because of the quality of the emotion…the honesty.” Cheek to Cheek also features the Lady Gaga solo, “Lush Life,” accompanied by Bennett’s solo of “Sophisticated Lady.” The two songs complement each other, as Lady Gaga explains, “I loved making ‘Lush Life,’ Tony mentored me emotionally through the process,” and Tony adds, “I sang ‘Sophisticated Lady’ to answer her on ‘Lush Life,’ and because Duke Ellington wrote it, who collaborated with Billy Strayhorn, the writer of ‘Lush Life.’” 


Recorded in New York City, Cheek to Cheek took over a year to complete and features jazz musicians associated with both artists including members of Bennett’s quartet, Mike RenziGray SargentHarold Jones and Marshall Wood as well pianist Tom Ranier. Jazz trumpeter Brian Newman, a long-time friend and colleague of Lady Gagaappears on the album as well with his NYC based jazz quintet. Jazz soloists on selected tracks include tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano, trumpeter George Rabbai and flutist Paul Horn, who passed away in July.


Tony Bennett And Lady Gaga Cheek To Cheek Track Listing:


1.  Anything Goes

2.  Cheek to Cheek

3.  Nature Boy

4.  I Can’t Give You Anything But Love

5.  I Won’t Dance

6.  Firefly

7.  Lush Life (Lady Gaga solo)

8.  Sophisticated Lady (Tony Bennett solo)

9.  Let’s Face the Music and Dance

10. But Beautiful

11. It Don’t Mean a Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)

Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga - Cheek to Cheek LP

SKU: 602537988976

    Related Products