top of page

Accessible and ambitious, Tears for Fears’ phenomenal 10-million-selling second album, Songs From The Big Chair, marked a transition in the band’s sound and catapulted them into international prominence. As a group, Tears for Fears led the “Second British Invasion” of pop music in the mid-eighties in both the U.S. and Europe with songs from the album dominating the radio airwaves. 


In the U.S., “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” led the Songs from the Big Chair single releases, reaching No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1985. “Shout” was the band’s second single and stayed at No. 1 for three weeks. The album inevitably went straight to No. 1, selling 5-million copies in the U.S. alone. 


Songs from the Big Chair peaked at No. 2 on the U.K. album charts and remained in the Top 10 for over six months. The album went on to yield the hit singles “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” (which spent 14 weeks in the U.K. Top 5 and peaked at No. 2) and “Shout,” which reached No. 4 and remained on the chart for 16 weeks. Both became global smash hits.


Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith formed Tears for Fears in 1981, after finding inspiration in the new electronic movement. Their six studio albums have sold over 30 million copies worldwide and produced some of the most recognized songs in New Wave. Tears for Fears are currently in the studio working on their first album in nearly a decade, with a release tentatively slated for 2015.



1. Shout

2. The Working Hour

3. Everybody Wants To Rule The World

4. Mothers Talk

5. I Believe

6. Broken

7. Head Over Heels

8. Listen

Tears For Fears - Songs From The Big Chair LP

SKU: 602537949953

    Related Products