top of page

ABBA: Bjorn Ulvaeus (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Benny Anderson (vocals, keyboards); Agnetha Faltskog, Anni Frid Lyngstad (vocals).Additional personnel: Lasse Wellander, Janne Schaffer (guitar); Lars O. Carlsson (flute, saxophone); Rutger Gunnarsson (bass); Ola Bunkert, Roger Palm (drums); Malando Gassama (persussion).Recorded at Glen, Metronome and Marcus Studios, Stockholm, Sweden in 1977. Includes reissue liner notes by Carl Magnus Palm.Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Jon Astley.Not quite the soundtrack to the Swedish foursome's film debut, ABBA: The Movie (directed by respected Swedish filmmaker Lasse Hallestrom), THE ALBUM combines several songs from the movie, including the deliriously bouncy hit "Take A Chance On Me" and the dramatic "The Name of the Game," with three songs from Bjorn Ulvaeus and Benny Anderson's never-completed musical The Girl with the Golden Hair.These three songs are among the band's most intriguing, with "Thank You for the Music" serving as the band's unofficial theme song and "I Wonder (Departure)" one of their most affecting ballads. It's the near-violent, bitterly ironic "I'm A Marionette" that's the wild card. Easily the angriest song ABBA ever recorded, "I'm A Marionette" sounds in retrospect like a portent of the band's rancorous end less than four years later. Curiosities and all, THE ALBUM may be ABBA's creative highpoint.

ABBA ‎– The Album

Label: Polar ‎– POLS 282

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album 

Country: Sweden

Released: 12 Dec 1977

Genre: Electronic, Rock, Pop

Style: Disco, Europop



  1. Eagle
  2. Take a Chance on Me
  3. One Man, One Woman
  4. The Name of the Game
  5. Move
  6. Hole in Your Soul/The Girl with the Golden Hair
  7. Thank You For the Music
  8. I Wonder (Departure)
  9. I'm a Marionette



ABBA ‎– The Album (LP)

SKU: 602557622515
Sold Out!

    Related Products