When they met in the mid-1990s, Thievery Corporation’s Eric Hilton and Rob Garza instantly bonded over their shared passion for bossa nova. Dedicating their 1996 debut Sounds from the Thievery Hi-Fi to bossa nova pioneer Antonio Carlos Jobim, the Washington, D.C.-based duo have spent nearly two decades creating boundary-warping, complexly crafted electronic music partly inspired by bossa nova’s intricate rhythms and lush textures. 


Thievery Corporation launched itself with the two underground hit vinyl singles, “Shaolin Satellite” and “2001 Spliff Odyssey,” followed by their debut album, Sounds from the Thievery Hi-Fi, and soon became loosely associated with the “trip-hop” scene that had emerged a few years prior in the U.K. Laid back yet firing, Sounds From The Thievery Hi Fi was a smoky homage to all things out on the dark side, a multi-textured transformation of Rastafarianism, martial arts and fourth world beats. Where it all began, absolutely essential!


Thievery Corporation Sounds From The Thievery Hi-Fi Track Listing:


1.  A Warning 

2.  2001 Spliff Odyssey

3.  Shaolin Satellite

4.  Transcendence

5.  Universal Highness

6.  Incident at Gate 7

7.  Scene at the Open Air Market

8.  The Glass Bead Game

9.  Encounter in Bahia

10. The Foundation

11. Interlude

12. The Oscillator

13. Assault on Babylon

14. .38.45 (A Thievery Number)

15. One

16. Sun, Moon & Stars

17. The Sleeper Car

Thievery Corporation - Sounds From The Thievery Hi-Fi ( 2LP )

SKU: 887158874796

    Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

    Quick Links >>



    Vintage Audio Gears

    Music Buying Group

    Help >>
    Store Hours >>

    Monday - Sunday

    9 AM to 7:30 PM

    or by appointment beyond regular hours

    Follow Us >>
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon

    ©2020 Plaka Express Record Store | Info@plakaexpress.com | +632 940-6858