Jazz icon Herbie Hancock's solo career blossomed on Blue Note Records in the mid-to-late '60s with classic albums including Maiden Voyage, Empyrean Isles and Speak Like a Child. However, 1965's Maiden Voyage is arguably the best in the bunch. Every single cut on the exquisite 5-track offering from the haunting title track to the gentle, swinging "Dolphin Dance" has found its way into the standard jazz repertoire. Hancock and company - Ron Carter (bass), George Coleman (tenor saxophone), Freddie Hubbard (trumpet) and Anthony Williams (drums) - fashioned a modern jazz milestone here with extraordinary compositions, interplay and solos and in 1999 Maiden Voyage was recognized as such when it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.



Herbie Hancock (piano)

Ron Carter (bass)

George Coleman (tenor saxophone)

Freddie Hubbard (trumpet)

Anthony Williams (drums)



- Remastered and reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign 

- Vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was, to include 100 essential Blue Note albums 

- Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note titles 

- First run of vinyl to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package 

- Key to the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign is the creation of high quality audio at an affordable price 

- All year long Blue Note will celebrate their iconic artists and the history of the label with various events, digital initiatives, vinyl campaigns and more


Herbie Hancock Maiden Voyage Track Listing:


1. Maiden Voyage

2. The Eye Of The Hurricane

3. Little One

4. Survival Of The Fittest

5. Dolphin Dance 

Herbie Hancock - Maiden Voyage: 75th Anniversary (LP)

SKU: 602537730674

    Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

    Quick Links >>



    Vintage Audio Gears

    Music Buying Group

    Help >>
    Store Hours >>

    Monday - Sunday

    9 AM to 7:30 PM

    or by appointment beyond regular hours

    Follow Us >>
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon

    ©2020 Plaka Express Record Store | Info@plakaexpress.com | +632 940-6858