Tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley brought real consistency to his many Blue Note dates, as well as an individualistic style that blended an almost languid sound with rhythmically acute phrasing. Two sessions held two years apart contribute to this 1965 LP, and they demonstrate Mobley's ease in two quite different quintets. Four of the tracks come from a 1965 session that joins Mobley's mellow tenor with the crackling trumpet of Freddie Hubbard while Donald Byrd and Herbie Hancock appear on "The Good Life" and "East Of The Village." "The Turnaround," a hard-bop boogaloo number in the style of Lee Morgan's "Sidewinder," has drummer Billy Higgins and pianist Barry Harris reprising their "Sidewinder" roles. But it's Mobley's unusually abbreviated, carefully matched phrases that make the strongest impression here! 



Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone)

Freddie Hubbard / Donald Byrd (trumpet)

Barry Harris / Herbie Hancock (piano)

Paul Chambers / Butch Warren (bass)

Philly Joe Jones / Billy Higgins (drums)



• Remastered and reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign 

• Vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was, to include 100 essential Blue Note albums 

• Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note titles 

• First run of vinyl to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package 

• Key to the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign is the creation of high quality audio at an affordable price 

• Blue Note will celebrate their iconic artists and the history of the label with various events, digital initiatives, vinyl campaigns and more


Hank Mobley The Turnaround! Track Listing:


1.  The Turnaround  

2.  East of the Village  

3.  The Good Life  

4.  Straight Ahead   

5.  My Sin  

6.  Pat 'n' Chat  

Hank Mobley - The Turnaround: 75th Anniversary (LP)

SKU: 602547173362

    Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

    Quick Links >>



    Vintage Audio Gears

    Music Buying Group

    Help >>
    Store Hours >>

    Monday - Sunday

    9 AM to 7:30 PM

    or by appointment beyond regular hours

    Follow Us >>
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon

    ©2020 Plaka Express Record Store | Info@plakaexpress.com | +632 940-6858