The story of Enya's enduring success is as strong an example of the power of three - omne trium perfectum – as one could expect to find in contemporary music. From humble beginnings, albeit firmly infused with the talent to make a dream a reality, Enya's career has swept from ripples to tidal waves of acclaim. Just look at the facts: 75 million sales; four Grammy Awards; six World Music Awards; an Ivor Novello, an Oscar nomination, a Golden Globe nomination, plus all seven of her studio albums (and the Paint The Sky With Stars compilation) have hit the upper echelons of charts all over the world.

In short, it's the very definition of a fulfilled potential. And yet a story without a new chapter is merely history. The Enya creative triumvirate – Enya, producer and sound engineer Nicky Ryan and lyricist Roma Ryan – are now set to embark upon a fresh adventure with the release of the brand new album Dark Sky Island. All three members of the creative team agree that they begin the process of making a new album without an overriding concept in mind. Yet, they concur, certain recurring themes emerge as the work takes shape.

"This album has a theme of journeys," states Enya. "Journeys to the island; through the length of a lifetime; through history, through emotions; and journeys across great oceans. So although it's not a ‘themed' album, as such, we nevertheless have an underlying connection between songs." "'Dark Sky Island' refers to the island of Sark, one of the Channel Islands," adds Roma. "It was the first island to be designated as a dark sky area. The community decided collectively to adjust their way of living in order to accommodate clear, unspoiled night-views of the heavens. There are no cars on the island and all of the lighting is designed so that it doesn't interfere with the observation of the stars. So many stars can be seen that it can be difficult to pick out familiar constellations."

Back in 1988, "Orinoco Flow" was the final song that was recorded during sessions for the Watermark album and its irresistible surge of globe-trotting euphoria made it an obvious choice as the album's first single. This time around, the last song to be completed is once again the lead single. "Echoes in Rain" shares the buoyant optimism of "Orinoco Flow," yet its rhythmic march celebrates the anticipation of a journey's end. Another key track is "The Humming," a song that muses on the cycle of the universe and how change affects everything. Such intergalactic exploration also extends to "The Forge of the Angels" and "The Loxian Gates." Dark Sky Island is also notable as the core triumvirate are joined for a one-off guest appearance courtesy of Eddie Lee on the track "Even In The Shadows."

In keeping with previous singles, "The Humming" subliminally works its infectious magic within the course of a single listen. By contrast, "Even In The Shadows" pulses with an insistent rhythm; the hymnal "I Could Never Say Goodbye" is sparse in its reflective beauty; while "Sancta Maria" blends synthesizers and classical instrumentation to create an ethereal soundscape that comfortably sits in both the past and the future. For this triumvirate of partners and friends, the journey marches on unabated. With Dark Sky Island and beyond, who knows what further expeditions lay unpredicted just over the horizon?



1. The Humming
2. So I Could Find My Way
3. Even In The Shadows
4. The Forge Of Angels
5. Echoes In Rain
6. I Could Never Say Goodbye
7. Dark Sky Island
8. Sancta Maria
9. Astra Et Luna
10. The Loxian Gates
11. Diamonds On The Water

Enya - Dark sky Island (LP)

SKU: LPNRR410615073

    Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

    Quick Links >>



    Vintage Audio Gears

    Music Buying Group

    Help >>
    Store Hours >>

    Monday - Sunday

    9 AM to 7:30 PM

    or by appointment beyond regular hours

    Follow Us >>
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon

    ©2020 Plaka Express Record Store | | +632 940-6858