Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Frank DeVol And His Orchestra. Recorded at Columbia Recording Studios, New York on July 15 & 16, 1960 and Radio Recorders, Hollywood, California on August 5, 1960. Ella Wishes You a Swinging Christmas is a charming, warmly humorous -- and yes, swinging -- set of classic Christmas tunes. The program is familiar, from bouncy singalongs like "Jingle Bells" to slinky ballads like a downright sexy "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," but Fitzgerald treats each song with exactly as much respect as it deserves. And so Frank Loesser's "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve" is wistfully romantic and Sammy Cahn and Jule Styne's "Let It Snow" is kittenishly enticing. As always, Norman Granz's production avoids the schlock that drowns some holiday sets. This is as good as jazz Christmas albums get.




A1 Jingle Bells  
A2 Santa Claus Is Coming To Town  
A3 Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas  
A4 What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?  
A5 Sleigh Ride  
A6 The Christmas Song  
B1 Good Morning Blues  
B2 Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow  
B3 Winter Wonderland  
B4 Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer  
B5 Frosty The Snow Man  
B6 White Christmas  
B7 We three Kings Of Orient Are*  
B8 O Little Town Of Bethlehem*

Ella Fitzgerald-Ella Wishes You A Swinging Christmas

SKU: 889397670252

    Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

    Quick Links >>



    Vintage Audio Gears

    Music Buying Group

    Help >>
    Store Hours >>

    Monday - Sunday

    9 AM to 7:30 PM

    or by appointment beyond regular hours

    Follow Us >>
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon

    ©2020 Plaka Express Record Store | | +632 940-6858