A previously unreleased live album by the peerless Ella FitzgeraldElla At Zardi's features the whole of the First Lady of Song's two-set, 21-song performance, and finds her in sparkling form, backed by a distinguished trio featuring pianist Don Abney, bassist Vernon Alley and drummer Frank CappElla At Zardi's arrives more than 60 years after the performance was originally recorded on February 2, 1956 at Zardi's Jazzland in Hollywood.

The Zardi's concert was recorded by Norman Granz to celebrate the creation of, and Fitzgerald's signing to, Verve Records. He founded the label largely to give Fitzgerald the attention he felt she'd been missing at Decca. Ella At Zardi's was planned as the label's inaugural release but shelved in favor of the studio album that became a classic in its place, Ella Fitzgerald Sings The Cole Porter Song Book, the first in her celebrated series of "Songbook" releases.

"We can hear a fluid and joyous singer who operates with almost giddy authority," says longtime jazz journalist Kirk Silsbee in the album's sleeve notes. "Ella manages to find a way of swinging almost every number, no matter the tempo. She anticipates her studio songbook albums with Duke Ellington's ‘In A Mellow Tone,' Cole Porter's ‘My Heart Belongs To Daddy,' the Gershwins' ‘S'Wonderful' and ‘I've Got a Crush On You,' and Jerome Kern's ‘A Fine Romance.'"



1. It All Depends On You  
2. Tenderly  
3. Why Don’t You Do Right  
4. Cry Me A River  
5. In A Mellow Tone  
6. Joe Williams’s Blues  
7. A Fine Romance  
8. How High The Moon  
9. Gone With The Wind  
10. Bernie’s Tune
11. ’S Wonderful  
12. Glad To Be Unhappy  
13. Lullaby of Birdland  
14. The Tender Trap  
15. And The Angels Sing  
16. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love  
17. Little Boy (a.k.a. Little Girl)
18. A-Tisket, A-Tisket  
19. My Heart Belongs To Daddy  
20. Airmail Special  
21. I’ve Got A Crush On You

Ella Fitzgerald - Ella at Zardi's (LP)

SKU: 602567687993

    Plaka Express is a family owned and operated record store in the Philippines.

    Quick Links >>



    Vintage Audio Gears

    Music Buying Group

    Help >>
    Store Hours >>

    Monday - Sunday

    9 AM to 7:30 PM

    or by appointment beyond regular hours

    Follow Us >>
    • Grey YouTube Icon
    • Grey Facebook Icon
    • Grey Instagram Icon

    ©2020 Plaka Express Record Store | Info@plakaexpress.com | +632 940-6858